Counseling Services

Five counselors stand in the high school hallway

The Bound Brook School District has taken a proactive approach to prioritize the well-being of all students and staff.

The Guidance Department at the Bound Brook School District is the focal point of the school community, serving students, parents, teachers and administration. Students may access services in the guidance office by making appointments with the counselors assigned to them. Counselors are available to assist and advise students about personal problems, academic problems, career choices, course selections, college choices and scholarship applications. The guidance department also assists in student orientation information services and standardized testing. The guidance office is open during regular school hours and throughout the summer.

Counselor shows college brochures to four students

Community Counseling Resources

Hotlines

Counseling Resources

Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
NIDA’s mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction.

National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence
Information, statistics, interviews, and recommendations about drinking from leading health authorities.

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Publications, research information and resources

The Partnership for a Drug Free New Jersey
A state anti-drug alliance to strengthen and deepen drug-prevention media efforts.

National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse
Center connects science with policy and practice to better the lives of all people impacted by substance use and addiction.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
The agency within the US Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavior health of the nation.

Alcoholics Anonymous
Self-supporting, non-professional fellowship of men and women who have had a drinking problem.

Nar-Anon
Support group for families and friends of addicts

PerformCare
Helps families access publicly funded services for youth with behavioral, emotional, intellectual, developmental, and/or substance use challenges.

CADCA
Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America work to make communities safe, healthy, and drug-free.

Mental Health/Suicide Awareness Supports

National Alliance on Mental Illness
The nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.

Kids Health
Site with information about health, behavior, and development from before birth through the teen years.

Half of Us
Goal is to initiate a public dialogue to raise awareness about the prevalence of mental health issues and connect students to the appropriate resources to get help.

To Write Love on Her Arms
Non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide.

The Trevor Project
National organization providing crisis, intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, transgender, and questioning young people ages 13-24.

Contacts

Anthony A. Mormile
District Director of Pupil Services
732-652-7966
amormile@bbrook.k12.nj.us

School Counselors

Anthony Appezzato
Bound Brook High School
732-652-7950 Ext. 3567
appezzato@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Mahon Ryan-Hannaway
Bound Brook High School
732-652-7950 Ext. 3586
mryan-hannaway@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Phyllis Hayes
Bound Brook High School
732-652-7955
phayes@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Alyssa DiGirolamo
Community Middle School
732-852-1130 Ext.7134
adigirolamo@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Jeffrey Jaegel
Smalley Elementary School
732-652-7940 Ext.4954
jjaegel@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Emily Ianniello
Smalley Elementary School
732-652-7940 Ext.6105
eianniello@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Janeen Kinney
Lafayette Elementary School
732-652-7957
jkinney@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Nicholas Moran
LaMonte Annex Elementary School & Intervention Specialist
732-652-7979
nmoran@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Deborah Paulsen
Student Assistance Counselor
732-652-7950 Ext.3980
dpaulsen@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Licensed Clinical Social Workers

Julia Buccini
LCSW Bound Brook High School
732-652-7936
jbuccini@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Thalia Carrera
LCSW Smalley Elementary School
732-652-7940 Ext.6105
tcarrera@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Sally Mendoza
LCSW LaMonte Annex Elementary School
732-652-7960 Ext.4324
smendoza@bbrook.k12.nj.us

Damaris Colon
Secretary
732-652-7956
dcolon@bbrook.k12.nj.us